

SOUTHERN AFRICAN CONFEDERATION OF AGRICULTURAL UNIONS

## MEDIA RELEASE

## 11<sup>th</sup> June 2015

# CHANGES TO THE SACAU BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions (SACAU) wishes to notify its members and stakeholders of changes to its Board of Directors which were made at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) which was recently held in Mahe, Seychelles.

## **Retirement from the Board:**

- Mr Salum Shamte (early retirement)
- Mr Haja Rakotomandimby (retirement after serving a 3-year term)

### New appointments:

Following a successful nomination and election process, the following appointments were made:

- Mrs Jane Ngulube (Malawi) elected Vice Chairman (was previously Ordinary Director)
- Dr Mohlalefi Moteane (Lesotho) elected Ordinary Director
- Mr Berean Mukwende (Zimbabwe) elected Ordinary Director

The changes are in line with SACAU's Memorandum of Incorporation (MoI) which stipulates, among others, that 2 (two) Directors shall retire at every AGM. Elected Directors are appointed for a period of 3 (three) years.

Dr Theo de Jager (South Africa) remains the Chairman of the Board as he was not due for retirement. Mr Ishmael Sunga (CEO of SACAU) completes the Board

### Editors' note

SACAU was originally established in 1992, and its Secretariat is based in Centurion, South Africa. Its membership is open to national farmers' unions and regional commodity associations in southern Africa.

SACAU is involved in agricultural development in the region through strengthening the capacities of farmers' organisations, by providing a collective voice for farmers on regional and international matters, and by providing agricultural related information to its members and other stakeholders.

# Membership

SACAU has 17 members in 12 countries in southern Africa as follows:

Botswana	Botswana Agricultural Union (BAU)
Lesotho	Lesotho National Farmers Union (LENAFU)
Madagascar	Coalition Paysanne de Madagascar (CPM)
-	Confédération des Agriculteurs Malagasy (FEKRITAMA)
Malawi	Farmers Union of Malawi (FUM)
	National Smallholders Farmers' Association of Malawi (NASFAM)
Mozambique	MozambiqueUniao Nacional de Camponeses (UNAC)
Namibia	Namibia Agricultural Union (NAU)
	Namibia National Farmers' Union (NNFU)
Seychelles	Seychelles Farmers Association (SEYFA)
South Africa	Agri South Africa (AgriSA)
	African Farmers' Association of South Africa (AFASA)
Swaziland	Swaziland National Agricultural Union (SNAU)
Tanzania	Agricultural Council of Tanzania (ACT)
Zambia	Zambia National Farmers Union (ZNFU)
Zimbabwe	Commercial Farmers Union of Zimbabwe (CFU)
	Zimbabwe Farmers Union (ZFU)

For further information, contact: Tel: +27 (0)12 644 0808 or e-mail: info@sacau.org.

End